


 

  

This office shall NOT give legal
advice to private parties or draft legal
documents for them. 

Anyone requiring such services
should consult an attorney licensed
to practice in Hawaii. 

WHAT IS SMALL CLAIMS DIVISION? 
It is a division of the district court in which 

certain types of claims between two or more 
parties are settled by a judge in a simple 
and informal manner. The law regarding the 
jurisdiction of the Small Claims Division is set 
forth in Chapter 633, Hawaii Revised Statutes 
1976, as amended. 
A person who files a claim is called a plaintiff; 

a person against whom a claim is filed is called 
the defendant. 

WHERE MUST I GO TO FILE A SMALL 
CLAIM? 

Small Claims packets are available in the 
Service Center office, located on the first floor, 
Hoapili Hale, Room 141A, 2145 Main Street, 
Wailuku, Hawaii  96793. 

WHAT ARE THE SERVICE COUNTER 
HOURS? 

8:00 A.M. to 4:00 P.M. Mondays through 
Fridays. 

MAY I FILE ANY KIND OF CLAIM IN 
THE SMALL CLAIMS DIVISION? 

NO. The Small Claims Division has power to 
handle only the following: 

A. 1) Cases for the recovery of money 
where the amount claimed is not more 
than $5,000.00 net over and above 
any amount for interest and costs that 
may be awarded by the court. 
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2) A defendant named in the Statement of 
Claim may file a “Counterclaim” for the 
recovery of any amount of money up to 
$40,000.00 (4/17/14) plus interest and costs. 

B. Cases to settle a disagreement between 
landlord and tenant about the security 
deposit in a residential landlord and tenant 
relationship. 

C. Cases for the return of leased or rented 
personal property worth less than $5,000 
where the amount claimed owed for 
that lease or rental is less than $5,000 
exclusive of interest and costs. 

D. Cases for recovery of damages sustained 
or for repossession based upon the 
unauthorized removal of shopping carts, 
shopping baskets or similar devices 
from the premises of any business 
establishment. 

WHERE MUST THE CLAIM BE FILED? 
A. The State of Hawaii is divided into four 

judicial circuits as follows: 
1) First judicial circuit (Oahu, District of 

Kalawao in Molokai, and all islands not 
included in other circuits); 

2) Second judicial circuit (Maui, Molokai 
except the District of Kalawao, Lanai, 
Kahoolawe, and Molokini); 

3) Third judicial circuit (Hawaii); and 
4) Fifth judicial circuit (Kauai and Niihau). 

B. Each judicial circuit has been divided 
geographically, into several divisions. 

C. There is a circuit court and a district court 
in each judicial circuit. 
1) The circuit court is located in one 

place. 
2) The district court is divided into 

as many divisions as there are 
geographical divisions in the judicial 
circuit to which it belongs. For 
example, The District Court of the 
Second Circuit is divided as follows: 

LOCATION OF 
DIVISIONS COURTHOUSE 
Wailuku Wailuku 
Lahaina Lahaina 
Hana Hana 
Molokai Kaunakakai 
Lanai Lanai City 
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D. The court rules provide that the claim 
shall be filed: 
1) In the division where the defendant 
resides; 

2) If the defendant does not reside in 
the judicial circuit, then in the division 
where the claim for relief arose, or if 
the claim for relief arose outside of 
the judicial circuit, then in any division 
where the defendant can be found; 
and 

3) If there are defendants residing in 
different divisions, then in the division 
where the claim for relief arose, or if 
the claim for relief arose outside of 
the judicial circuit, then in any division 
where any defendant can be found. 

E. Consult the clerk of the court if you have 
any questions about filing procedure. 

MAY A CLASS ACTION CLAIM BE 
INITIATED IN THE SMALL CLAIMS 
DIVISION? 

NO. 

HOW IS THE DEFENDANT NOTIFIED? 
A. The clerk will prepare a notice stating the 

time and place at which the defendant 
must appear to answer the claim. 
The plaintiff must cause a copy of the 
Statement of Claim together with a 
copy of the notice to be served on the 
defendant. 

B. If the defendant is found within the judicial 
circuit to which the district court belongs, 
the Statement of Claim and notice may be 
served on the defendant by either of the 
following ways: 
l.	 The plaintiff may send the Statement of 

Claim and notice to the defendant by 
registered or certified mail with return 
receipt requested. Prior to the hearing 
date, the plaintiff must file the receipt 
for registered or certified mail issued 
by the post office when the papers 
were mailed and the return receipt 
showing the date of delivery and the 

3 



 

  
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

signature of the defendant. Without 
these receipts, you may not be able 
to prove to the satisfaction of the 
court that the papers were delivered 
to the defendant in order to obtain a 
judgment by default if the defendant 
does not appear in court. 
a. If the case involves a claim for the 

return or keeping of the security 
deposit in a residential landlord 
and tenant relationship only, the 
return receipt may show delivery 
of the registered or certified mail to 
the defendant at any place in the 
world. 

b. Except as stated in (a) above, the 
return receipt must show delivery of 
the registered or certified mail to the 
defendant at a place situated within 
the judicial circuit in which the suit 
was commenced. 

2. The plaintiff may contact a civil 
process agent and request their 
services to serve the papers on the 
defendant. 

C. If the defendant cannot be found in 
the Judicial Circuit of State, in certain 
cases, it may be possible to effect proper 
service on the defendant by following 
the procedure prescribed under the 
appropriate and applicable provisions of 
Chapter 634, Hawaii Revised Statutes, 
as amended. 

WHAT DOES IT COST TO NOTIFY 
THE DEFENDANT AND WHO PAYS 
THE COST? 

A. The plaintiff must pay the fees charged 
by the post office if service is made by 
certified or registered mail. 

B. If the papers are given to a civil process 
agent for service, the plaintiff must pay to 
the civil process agent a fee for serving 
the papers plus a mileage fee which will 
vary according to the distance the agent 
must travel. 

C. For further information, please check with 
the clerk. 
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D. If the plaintiff wins the case, the court 
may add the amount of such costs to 
the judgment rendered against the 
defendant. 

WHAT STEPS MUST I TAKE TO FILE 
A CLAIM IN THE SMALL CLAIMS 
DIVISION? 
You must file a Statement of Claim with the 

clerk of the court. Upon request, he or she may 
assist with the Statement of Claim from the 
information you furnish. 

WHO MAY ASK THE CLERK FOR 
ASSISTANCE? 

The Assistance of the clerk to prepare 
necessary papers may be available to an 
individual who seeks help regarding a personal 
claim. 
Anyone filing a claim arising out of a business 

operation is not entitled to such assistance. 

MAY I FILE MY SMALL CLAIM IN 
THE REGULAR CLAIMS DIVISION 
OF THE DISTRICT COURT INSTEAD 
OF FILING IT IN THE SMALL CLAIMS 
DIVISION? 
YES; except that a claim for the return or 

keeping of the security deposit in a residential 
landlord-tenant relationship and cases involving 
the repossession of shopping carts, shopping 
baskets or similar devices can be filed and tried 
only in the Small Claims Division. 

WHAT ARE THE ADVANTAGES OF 
FILING IN THE SMALL CLAIMS 
DIVISION? 

The procedure is simple and informal. 
You may ask the clerk for assistance in 

preparing any papers that are necessary to sue 
for recovery of a personal claim. No lawyers are 
needed. 
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WHAT ARE THE DISADVANTAGES? 
There is no right of appeal from a judgment 


of the Small Claims Division. The decision of the 

judge sitting in the Small Claims Division is final.
	

WHAT DOES IT COST TO FILE A 
STATEMENT OF CLAIM? 
The filing fee is $35.00 (7/1/98) 

WHEN WILL THE CASE BE HEARD? 
The clerk will set a hearing date not less 

than five nor more than 30 days from the date 
of filing of the Statement of Claim, subject to 
continuances that may be granted by the court. 
Upon the filing of your Statement of Claim 

and Notice, the clerk will assign a specific date 
and time for your trial and include that date on 
the Notice contained in your Statement of Claim 
and Notice. Your  case will appear on the court 
calendar on the specified day. 

HOW MUCH NOTICE WILL THE 
DEFENDANT HAVE OF THE 
HEARING? 
The defendant must be notified at least 48 

hours before the date set for hearing. In other 
words, the summons must be served on the 
defendant at least 48 hours before the date of 
the hearing. 

WHAT IF THE DOCUMENTS ARE NOT 
SERVED UPON THE DEFENDANT 
BEFORE THE ASSIGNED COURT 
DATE? 

The plaintiff must appear on the assigned 
court date and ask the Court to continue the 
matter. The court clerk will prepare the Order for 
Continuance, which the Plaintiff can pick up after 
2 working days from the court date. 
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WHAT SHOULD THE PLAINTIFF 
AND THE DEFENDANT DO IN 
PREPARATION FOR HEARING OF THE 
CASE? 

At the hearing, you will be required to present 
the facts of your side of the case in your own 
words. 

If you have any witnesses who can back up 
your claim, bring them to court. 

A witness may be compelled to attend under an 
order to appear, which is known as a subpoena. 
The party for the order must pay witness fees and 
mileage. 

Bring to court any documents or papers 
that relate to the case to back up your story. 
Documents or any papers you might need include: 

l.	 Any written contracts (for example, rental 
agreements, promissory notes, receipts, 
agreements to repair property, etc.); 

2. Any letters that might have passed 

between you and the other party.
 

3. Any bills, paid or unpaid, and cancelled 
checks having to do with the case; 

4. Any repair bills or written estimates of 
repair prepared by qualified persons; 

5. Photographs of any damaged property. 
Witnesses are very important in any case 

where there is damage to property. If your case 
involves a question of the quality of workmanship 
or the reasonable value of materials used and 
services performed for repairing damaged 
property, an experienced and impartial person 
in the same trade will make a good witness. The 
person who made an estimate of the cost of 
repairs and the person who did the repair work 
on damaged property should be brought to court 
as witnesses for the party who wants to recover 
costs incurred for such repairs. 

MAY A PARTY BE REPRESENTED BY 
AN ATTORNEY? 
YES, in all cases; except that if the case 

involves a claim for the return or retention of the 
security deposit in a residential rental agreement, 
neither party may be represented by an attorney. 

Generally attorney fees are not awarded 
unless specifically provided by law. 
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WHAT HAPPENS IF THE DEFENDANT 
IS NOT PRESENT AT THE TIME AND 
PLACE SET FOR THE HEARING? 

If the defendant has been properly served with 
the summons, the plaintiff may win judgment by 
default, but the judge may require the plaintiff to 
present evidence to prove his/her claim. 

WHAT HAPPENS IF THE PLAINTIFF 
IS NOT PRESENT AT THE TIME AND 
PLACE SET FOR THE HEARING? 

The case may be dismissed. If the case is 
dismissed with prejudice, the plaintiff cannot 
file a new suit on the same claim. If the case is 
dismissed without prejudice, a new suit on the 
claim may be filed. 

MUST THE DEFENDANT ANSWER 
THE STATEMENT OF CLAIM IN 
WRITING? 

NO. A defendant may orally deny the plaintiff’s 
claim at the hearing and seek to defeat it on any 
valid grounds. 
However, if the defendant wants to file a 

counterclaim to the plaintiff’s Statement of Claim, 
then the defendant must file a written answer to 
plaintiff’s claim together with a written statement 
of his counterclaim before the date of hearing. If 
the defendant needs additional time to prepare 
the answer and counterclaim, he/she may ask 
the court to continue the hearing to another date. 

The counterclaim may be for any amount up 
to $40,000.00 (4/17/14). 

If the plaintiff’s case involves a claim for the 
security deposit in a residential landlord and 
tenant relationship, the defendant can file a 
counterclaim up to the amount of the security 
deposit in dispute only if it is based on a claim 
over which the Small Claims Division has 
exclusive jurisdiction. In other words, if the 
defendant’s claim is one which can be filed in 
the Small Claims Division or the Regular Claims 
Division, then the defendant must file a separate 
Statement of Claim instead of a counterclaim. 
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HOW CAN A PERSON PREPARE 
A COUNTERCLAIM WITHOUT AN 
ATTORNEY? 

Upon request, the clerk of the court may 
assist in preparing the counterclaim from the 
information furnished by the defendant. This 
service is available to an individual in connection 
with his or her personal affairs only, and not with 
any business operation. 
The filing fee is $10.00. 

HOW IS THE PLAINTIFF NOTIFIED OF 
A COUNTERCLAIM? 
If there is sufficient time before the hearing 

date, the counterclaim may be served by mail. 
If not, a copy should be handed to the plaintiff 
at the time of the hearing. The date of the 
hearing may be continued at the request of the 
plaintiff, if the plaintiff should need additional 
time to prepare an answer or defense to the 
counterclaim. 

MAY THE CASE BE TRANSFERRED 
FROM THE SMALL CLAIMS DIVISION 
TO THE REGULAR CLAIMS DIVISION 
OF THE DISTRICT COURT? 

A. Cases involving the security deposit in a 
residential landlord and tenant relationship 
and cases involving the repossession of 
shopping carts, shopping baskets or similar 
devices must be tried and settled in the 
Small Claims Division. They cannot be 
transferred to the Regular Claims Division 
by either party. They cannot be transferred 
to the Circuit Court for trial by jury. 

B. Pursuant to section §633-27 of the 
Hawai‘i Revised Statutes, effective 
January 1, 1992, no case filed in the 
Small Claims Division shall be transferred 
to the Regular Claims Division unless the 
transfer is agreed to by the Plaintiff. If a 
case is transferred from the Small Claims 
Division to the Regular Claims Division: 
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1. The trial will be scheduled on a date 
to be set by the judge of the Regular 
Claims Division. 

2. At the trial, rules on evidence will be 
applied. 

3. Each party’s right to appeal the 
judges’s decision will be preserved. 

4. The party who requested the transfer 
will be responsible for paying the 
transfer fee. 

MAY THE PLAINTIFF OR THE 
DEFENDANT HAVE A JURY TRIAL? 

YES. If there is a Counterclaim filed for more 
than $5,000.00, either party may have the case 
transferred to the Circuit Court for jury trial. 
A demand for jury trial must be filed before 

the trial in Small Claims Court begins; and 
$375.00 or the costs payable to the Circuit 
Court must be deposited with the clerk of the 
Court. Upon approval by the presiding judge, the 
matter will be transferred to the Circuit Court for 
trial by Jury. 

Neither party will have the right to a jury 
trial if the Statement of Claim is for $5,000.00 
or less and the Counterclaim, if any, is also for 
$5,000.00 or less; or if the Statement of Claim is 
for a matter over which exclusive jurisdiction has 
been granted to the Small Claims Court. 

WHAT HAPPENS AFTER THE COURT 
DECIDES THE CASE? 

The judgment must be prepared in written 
form and filed. Usually, the clerk prepares the 
judgment. 

However, the court may order the party 
who wins to prepare it. This may be done, for 
example, in a case in which the parties are 
represented by attorneys. 
After the judgment is filed, both parties 

are notified. If both of them have appeared 
for the hearing, the clerk notifies them. If only 
the plaintiff has appeared and subsequently 
obtains judgment, the plaintiff must mail a copy 
of the judgment, showing the filing date, to the 
defendant at his last known address. 
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MAY THE LOSING PARTY APPEAL? 
There is no right of appeal from a judgment of 

the Small Claims Division. 

MAY THE LOSING PARTY ASK 
THE COURT TO RECONSIDER THE 
JUDGMENT? 

The losing party may ask the court to alter or 
set aside the judgment within 10 days after filing 
of the judgment. 

For example, the losing party may wish to 
correct a mistake made in computing the amount 
of the judgment or present new evidence 
discovered after the time of the hearing. 

ONCE THE JUDGMENT IS FINAL, 
WHAT STEPS MAY BE TAKEN TO 
COLLECT IT? 

There are several remedies governed by 
State and Federal laws and regulations. The 
clerk may provide information on alternatives 
available for collection, however, the court 
cannot act as the collection agency for the 
judgment creditor. If you have any questions 
as to the best means to enforce your judgment 
against the defendant, you should consult a 
licensed attorney for appropriate advice. 

HOW CAN A JUDGMENT CREDITOR 
(the party who has won a claim 
or counterclaim) MAKE OUT THE 
PAPERS NECESSARY TO COLLECT 
A JUDGMENT IF THE CREDITOR 
DOES NOT HAVE AN ATTORNEY? 

The creditor, if an individual, may call upon 
the clerk for assistance if the case involves 
personal affairs and not business operations. 
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IS THE JUDGMENT DEBTOR (the 
losing party) REQUIRED TO PAY 
THE COST OF COLLECTING THE 
JUDGMENT? 

YES, the debtor must reimburse the judgment 
creditor for these expenditures. Check with the 
serving officer or the court clerk. 

WHAT MUST I DO IF I RECEIVE 
PAYMENT-IN-FULL FROM THE 
DEFENDANT? 

If payment is received prior to a judgment 
being filed, you must file a NOTICE OF 
DISMISSAL WITH PREJUDICE. If payment is 
received after the judgment has been filed and 
entered, you must file a SATISFACTION OF 
JUDGMENT. The clerk of the court will furnish 
you with the necessary forms and provide 
instructions for its preparation. 

IF YOU HAVE ANY OTHER 
QUESTIONS, WHO CAN HELP ME? 

For further information, you may call the 
Service Center at 244-2706. ONLY IF THERE 
IS NO ANSWER, please call Legal Documents 
Branch at 244-2752, or you may consult a 
licensed attorney for advice. 

NOTE: THE CLERK OF THE COURT/ 
BAILIFF WILL ASSIST YOU ON ANY 
PROCEDURAL MATTERS. 

THE CLERK OF THE COURT IS NOT 
EMPOWERED TO ASSIST YOU ON 
MATTERS OF A “LEGAL” NATURE. 
PLEASE CONSULT WITH LEGAL 
COUNSEL ON MATTERS PERTAINING 
TO LAW. 
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