Electronically Filed Supreme Court SCMF-11-0000719 03-OCT-2011 11:20 AM

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF HAWAI'I

In the Matter of the Establishment of and Appointment of Members to the

JUDICIARY STRATEGIC PLANNING COMMITTEE (HAWAI'I JUDICIARY 20/20: OUR VISION)

\_\_\_\_\_\_

## ORDER ESTABLISHING THE JUDICIARY STRATEGIC PLANNING COMMITTEE (HAWAI'I JUDICIARY 20/20: OUR VISION) AND APPOINTING ITS MEMBERS

(By: Recktenwald, C.J.)

The Hawai'i State Judiciary has been a leader in judicial planning, instituting the first comprehensive planning program in the nation and serving as a model for other states. However, the Judiciary's most recent planning survey was completed over twelve years ago. Accordingly, now is an appropriate time to initiate a strategic planning process to map the future direction of the Judiciary.

The Judiciary's mission statement, adopted in 1996, provides: "The mission of the Judiciary as an independent branch of government is to administer justice in an impartial, efficient

and accessible manner in accordance with the Law." The goal of the strategic planning process is to determine how this mission may evolve, or should evolve, between now and the year 2020, and to determine how the judiciary can most effectively achieve this mission.

The strategic planning process should be guided by principles of openness and inclusiveness, and should provide opportunities for judiciary employees, key stakeholders, and the public to give input that will be useful in shaping a vision for the future of the Judiciary.

Therefore,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the Judiciary Strategic Planning Committee (Hawai'i Judiciary 20/20: Our Vision) ("the Committee") is established. The Committee is tasked with developing a recommended plan to shape the future of the Judiciary between now and 2020. The recommended plan shall be consistent with the Judiciary's mission.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the following individuals are appointed to the Committee:

The Honorable James E. Duffy, Jr.
The Honorable Lawrence M. Reifurth
Aileen T. Chikasuye Port, Esq.
The Honorable Harry P. Freitas
Anona L. Gabriel
Terri L. Gearon
Velma K. Kam
Jay A. Kawakami
The Honorable Rhonda I. Loo
Kathy K. Moriyama

Loriann M. Okita
Cheryl A. Salmo
The Honorable Trudy K. Senda
Kevin K. Takahashi
Lillian K. Takaki, Esq.
Eric A. Tanigawa
Beth Tarter
Gary T. Teramae
The Honorable Rom A. Trader
Denise K. Villanova
The Honorable Matthew J. Viola
Susan A. Weber
Dawn G. West
Janice G. Yamada
Kari L. Yamashiro

IT IS ALSO ORDERED that the Honorable James E. Duffy, Jr. and the Honorable Lawrence M. Reifurth are designated as Co-Chairs of the Committee.

IT IS FINALLY ORDERED that the Committee shall submit a report to the Chief Justice describing the committee's vision, including specific recommendations for action, by December 31, 2012.

DATED: Honolulu, Hawai'i, October 3, 2011.

/s/ Mark E. Recktenwald

Chief Justice

